Unconditional

The air

                                                 smothers skin        like an everlasting kiss

perches on the lips

                                     of the newborn baby        of the couple by the fountain

                      whose first “first” is to inhale        whose last “last” is to exhale

regardless

     momma doesn’t notice the brown skin,        daddy’s unhappy and says

our

                              love is unconditional but        family doesn’t mix with

                                                                                   people of his

skin

                 only matter to the weak who see        they are a different

color.

So this poem might be a bit confusing at first, but basically I wanted to emphasize how it shouldn’t matter what color our skin is because we all live in a beautiful world and breathe the same air. The air I breathe might be the very same air a man in Sri Lanka breathes  (not literally but figuratively). Essentially, this poem can be read four different ways. You can read it…

  • all the way down the left side with the italicized words in the middle
  • all the way down the right side with the italicized words in the middle
  • only read the italicized words down the middle
  • or left to right as a whole

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA     OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was inspired to write this poem while I was doing the shoot featured above. As I was taking the pictures I couldn’t get over how beautiful the day was. As you can see in the photos, the tree I saw was awe-inspiring. I couldn’t understand the beauty around me but I could feel it. Everyone that walked by that tree knew it was beautiful, there was no question. And I believe that everyone we walk by should be viewed that way too. Prejudices distract us from seeing that.

That’s what I love about fashion–it is a universal language. No matter what ethnicity you are, what language you speak, what color your skin is, fashion remains a key in bringing people together.

Stay unique,

Thank you for reading,

Miranda

 

Outfit Featured:

Urban Outfitters top and skirt

Vans

18 thoughts on “Unconditional

  1. I don’t think I’ve mentioned how much I love the new format of your blog 🙂 totally inspirational and a great take on fashion/poetry/literature! As always, I totally love your look, photos, and words! Have a great weekend!!

    1. Thank you once again for making me smile with your sweet comments:) It truly means so much to me that you feel that way. I’m grateful to have met you through our blogs. You’re genuine kindness is inspiring and beautiful.
      XOXO

Leave a Reply

