Knock On Wood

The following passage is an excerpt from a personal essay, “Knock On Wood:”

You find a friend who is willing to lend you their long board. Objective one: check.

“I’m not making a mistake in letting you borrow this right?” they ask.

You hope not.

Now you have to learn how to ride this thing. You hug the long board to your chest. It’s length makes it difficult considering the end meets your knees. You don’t know how to hold a long board yet, so you continue walking down the halls in this manner. Someone passes by you and you pull your chin up in defiance, daring them to question your ways. You know this a poor attempt at passing yourself off as a long boarder because you are now realizing that this is not how you carry a long board. You are a poser. You are the woman who is married to her job, and does not like children. So when she is handed her best friend’s newborn baby she does not know how to hold it so she holds it out in front of her at arms length, her eyes begging for someone to come and take the baby.

So you continue carrying the long board like that—at least until the person has rounded the corner of the hallway and is out of sight.

You start off practicing in the hallways to avoid embarrassing yourself in the open. You still embarrass yourself. You attempt to mount the long board but it bucks underneath your unnatural weight. You are foreign. You have not established a relationship with the long board; therefore, the long board does not like you, at least you assume so. What other reason would there be for it leading you into walls when all you wish to accomplish is making it down a straight hallway. You are convinced the long board is conspiring against you…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see from the story, it wasn’t easy teaching myself how to long board (I’m not the most graceful person) but I loved it too much to stop trying. That’s why I included it in this shoot. Some people might think that the outfits I wear when I long board don’t necessarily fit the situation. Apparently, I’m one of the only girls that long boards while wearing skirts and dresses (don’t worry I wear sliders so there aren’t any “accidents” haha)! But I’m not going to stop wearing the outfits I love just because it doesn’t fit the “norm.” Personally, I felt my long board accentuated the sportiness of this outfit!

Then again, regardless of what anyone thinks—“I do me.”

And that’s the way it should be. Everyone should be confident enough to embrace his or her quirks. For me, I’m a pretty awkward/weird person but I love it. So, if I can show people it’s okay to be weird and just have fun with it, then I’ve done my job.

Stay Unique, Stay Quirky, Stay Awkward—

Have Fun Being You.

Thank you for reading,

Miranda

P.S. If you want to read the rest of the essay, just comment below and I will be happy to provide it!

Featured Outfit:

All Urban Outfitters

Renovate long board

12 thoughts on “Knock On Wood

  1. OMG, this is so cool. I have always wanted to try long board or even skate but never got the chance. 😥 (That’s why I am so jealous right now,haha ) And Yeeees, I agree with you, never ever stop trying something you love!

    That outfit is great. You are so cool and pretty. LOVE IT! ♥♥♥

  2. What an awesome juxtaposition of fashion and a sport- and “doing you.” I love it. I think this is what fashion embodies for so many of us- and I love expanding that concept into trying other new things!!

Leave a Reply

