Piercing Daylight

Piercing Daylight by Miranda Proctor


Shards of sunlight

strung, woven

like Christmas lights

in the sharp cracks

between palm leaves.


Komorebi

as the Japanese called it—

Where the earth and sky

came together

in the space where

light and leaf interplayed,

intermingled.


But this light was a new light.


A light that

shattered bulbs,

refusing to be contained.


A light that

cut,

instead of passively filtering,

floating.


This light pierced daylight.


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hey Everyone!

Unfortunately, just about everyone has felt the piercing sting of the sun during a hot summer day. When I shot this the other day it was about 88 degrees and I didn’t stand a chance against the sun. I sweated through my makeup in the first five minutes… While I was walking around our downtown looking for a good back ground, all I could think about was how badly I wanted bubble tea (if you haven’t tried bubble tea, I highly recommend it! Disclaimer: you might not like the bubbles at first but they can grow on ya!)

The thing is, we focus so much on the small discomforts that we forget about the rawness of life. When I looked up into the palm leaves trying to fan myself before the next shot, I saw the light cutting through the sharp edges of the leaves. I’m not going to say that my sweating magically stopped because I was so moved by how beautiful it was (that’s bogus) but I will say it made the near heat-stroke worth it.

Noticing the stark intensity of something as seemingly insignificant as sunlight peeking through the gaps in the palm leaves is what life is about. The little details that you find beautiful are the true moments that remind you of what it means to be human. So I urge you to practice a little aestheticism and focus on the little beauties.

Love life and all the details it has to offer.

Stay Unique,

Thanks for reading,

Miranda

Featured Outfit:

Topshop Romper

Anthropology Wedges

Francesca’s Necklace

12 thoughts on “Piercing Daylight

  1. You are so stunning, Miranda, and this outfit is such a lovely one! The idea you discussed in this post is one that I agree with completely, though it took me quite a while to finally find and embrace it.

    I love walking along the park and noticing quirky little marks around the lamp posts and knowing that those have likely been left by someone accidentally bumping into it, or dogs pawing at it, or maybe even a loose frisbee. Little things that tell the stories of things, objects, people.

    I loved this post immensely!

    May x • THE MAYDENbloglovin’

    P.S You have an AMAZING body (That change in tone though, haha!)

    1. This comment means the world to me, because I know you took the time to actually think about what I wrote and connected with my words. So thank you for taking the time to read and respond. Truly. I am grateful, and happy that you notice those quirky things too. Makes life interesting:)

Leave a Reply

